Five-year multiple-entry tourist visa for the UAE announced


On 6 January 2020 the UAE Cabinet approved the issuance of a five-year multiple-entry tourist visa for all nationalities visiting the country.

The decision was made during the Cabinet’s first meeting during 2020 the Year of Preparation, chaired by His Highness Sheikh Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President, Prime Minister of UAE and Ruler of Dubai. The move comes in a bid to support the UAE’s tourism economy, and affirm the country’s position as a global tourist destination.

It has not yet been revealed if the government will charge for such a service. At present, visitors from some countries can secure free of charge a 30-day visa on arrival at the airport plus a 10-day grace period. This includes travellers from Britain, Ireland, Australia, Russia and China, among others.

Other nationalities require paid-for visas, costing for example $10 for 48-hours or $30 for 96-hours and $90 for 30 days. This includes Pakistan, India, Philippines among others.


The UAE Federal Authority for Identity and Citizenship has been tasked with implementing the new decision, hence we shall wait and see the details.